This is the "Professional Resources for Faculty" page of the "Professional Library Resources for Faculty Use" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Professional Library Resources for Faculty Use   Tags: faculty, teaching  

This guide provides a list of books available for faculty to use for instruction and teaching.
Last Updated: Aug 13, 2013 URL: http://cloud.libguides.com/facultyresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Professional Resources for Faculty Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Professional Books for Faculty in the General Collection

PROFESSIONAL BOOKS IN THE GENERAL COLLECTION

 

Amada, Gerald (1999). Coping with misconduct in the college classroom: a practical model. 378.1 Am12

Amada, Gerald (2001). Mental health and student conduct issues on the college campus: a reading.  378.197 Am12

Anderson, Jeffrey B. (1997). Learning with the community: concepts and models for service-learning in teacher education. 370.71 L479

Arreola, Raoul A. (2000). Developing a comprehensive faculty evaluation system: a handbook for college faculty and administrators on designing and operating a comprehensive faculty evaluation system.  378.122 Ar69

Astin, Alexander W. (2000). How service learning affects students378.103 H830

Astin, Alexander W. (2001).  What matters in college?: four critical years revisited378.198 As84

Ball, Arnetha F. (2011). Studying diversity in teacher education. 370.71 B210

Balliet, Barbara J. (2000). The practice of change:  concepts and models for service-learning in women’s studies. 305.4 P881

Banner, James M. (1999). The elements of learning. 378.1 B226

Bates, Tony (2003). Effective teaching with technology in higher education: foundations for success. 378.125 B316

Battistoni, Richard M. (1997). Experiencing citizenship:  concepts and models for service-learning in political science. 320 Ex71

Baxter Magolda, Marcia B. (1992). Knowing and reasoning in college: gender-related patterns in students’ intellectual development. 370.1523 B335

Branche, Jerome (2007). Diversity across the curriculum: a guide for faculty in higher education. 378.199 B732

Brookfield, Stephen (2005). The power of critical theory: liberating adult learning and teaching. 374 B791

Brown, David G. (2003). Developing faculty to use technology: programs and strategies to enhance teaching. 658.3 B812

Brubaker, David C. (2000). Life, learning, and community: concepts and models for service-learning in biology. 574.7 L626

Budra, Paul Vincent (2012). From text to txting: new media in the classroom. 371.33 B859t

Bush, Michele (1997). Evaluation and assessment in service-learning. 378.103 Ev13

Butler, Rebecca P. (2004) Copyright for teachers and librarians. 025.5 B978

Campus Compact (2000). Introduction to service-learning toolkit: readings and resources for faculty. 378.103 In8

Chitgopekar, Anu S. (1999). Where is the common ground?: insights into service-learning collaborations between community colleges and universities. 378.103 W574

Cohen, Arthur M. (2003).  The American community college. 378 C660

Connolly, Charlene (1998). Caring and community: concepts and models for service-learning in nursing. 610.73 C191

Conrad, Rita-Marie (2004). Engaging the online learner: activities and resources for creative instruction. 371.334 C763

Coppola, Eileen M. (2004). Powering up: learning to teach well with technology. 371.334 C796

Crews, Robin Jeffrey (2002). Higher education service-learning sourcebook. 378.103 C867

Crews, Robin Jeffrey (1999). Teaching for justice: concepts and models for service-learning in peace studies. 303.6 T220

Cropley, A.J. (2001). Creativity in education & learning: a guide for teachers and educators. 370.157 C883

Culp, Marguerite McGann (1995). Promoting student success in the community college. 378.198 P944

De los Santos, Gerardo E. (2001). Access in the information age:  community colleges bridging the digital divide. 378.1543 Ac22

Donovan, Bill M. (2000). Connecting past and present: concepts and models for service-learning in history. 907 C762

Droge, David Allen (1999). Voices of strong democracy: concepts and models for service-learning in communication studies. 302.2 V870

Dugan, Robert E. (2006) Revisiting outcomes assessment in higher education. 378.1 R327

Ericksen, Stanford C. (1984). The essence of good teaching. 378.125 Er44e

Erickson, Bette LaSere (1991). Teaching college freshmen. 378.125 Er44

Evans, Joyce J. (2004). Dreamweaver MX 2004: complete course. 005.72 Ev15

Feldman, Harriet R. (2006). Teaching evidence-based practice in nursing: a guide for academic and clinical settings. 610.73 L578

Filene, Peter G. (2005). The joy of teaching: a practical guide for new college instructors. 378.125 F474

Fuller, Robert G. (2009). College teaching and the development of reasoning. 378.125 F959

Gelmon, Sherril B. (2001). Assessing service-learning and civic engagement: principles and techniques. 378.103 As74p

Gibson, Chere (1998). Distance learners in higher education: institutional responses for quality outcomes. 378.175 D633

Godfrey, Paul C. (2000). Working for the common good: concepts and models for service-learning in management. 658 W892

Gordon, Virginia N. (2000). Academic advising: a comprehensive handbook. 378.194 Ac12

Gottlieb, Karla (2002). A practical guide for integrating civic responsibility into the curriculum. 370.115 P881

Greive, Donald E. (2003). Handbook II: advanced teaching strategies for adjunct faculty. 371.1 H191

Greive, Donald E. (2011). A handbook for adjunct/part-time faculty and teachers of adults. 378.125 G863

Hawke, Constance S. (2001). Computer and internet use on campus: a legal guide to issues of intellectual property, free speech, and privacy. 343.7309 H312

Hebert, Elizabeth A. (2001). The power of portfolios: what children can teach us about learning and assessment. 372.127 H354

Hecht, Irene W.D. (1999). The department chair as academic leader. 378.1 H355

Heffernan, Kerrissa (2001). Fundamentals of service-learning course construction. 378.103 H361

Hellebrandt, Josef (1999). Construyendo puentes = Building bridges: concepts and models for service-learning in Spanish. 460 C765

Hermanns, Kris (2000). Creating community-responsive physicians: concepts and models for service-learning in medical education. 610.711 C860

Higbee, Jeanne L. (2005). The General College vision: integrating intellectual growth, multicultural perspectives, and student development. 378.198 H534

Horton, Myles (1990). We make the road by walking: conversations on education and social change. 374 H789

Horton, Sarah (2000). Web teaching guide: a practical approach to creating course Web sites. 005.72 H790

Jacoby, Barbara (1996). Service-learning in higher education: concepts and practices. 378.103 J159

Jensen, Eric (2000). Brain-based learning. 370.15 J453

Jensen, Eric (1998). Teaching with the brain in mind. 370.1523 J453

Kent, Lucas (2008). 6 steps to success in teaching with technology: a guide to using technology in the classroom. 371.33 K416

Kirst, Michael W. (2004). From high school to college: improving opportunities for success in postsecondary education. 379.73 K639

Ko, Susan Schor (2010). Teaching online: a practical guide. 378.1 K790

Ko, Susan Schor (2001). Teaching online: a practical guide. 378.175 K790

Kuh, George D. (2005). Student success in college: creating conditions that matter. 378.198 K954

Lenning, Oscar T. (1999). The powerful potential of learning communities: improving education for the future. 378.12 L548

Light, Richard J. (2001). Making the most of college: students speak their minds. 378.1 L626

Loeb, Paul Rogat (1999). Soul of a citizen: living with conviction in a cynical time. 361.2 L822

Maki, Peggy (2004). Assessing for learning: building a sustainable commitment across the institution. 378.1 M289

Marcus, Dora (2000). Lessons learned from FIPSE projects IV. 378.009 L563

Marzano, Robert J. (2001). Classroom instruction that works: research-based strategies for increasing student achievement. 371.102 M369

McKeachie, Wilbert James (1994). Teaching tips: strategies, research, and theory for college and university teachers. 378.1 N599

National Research Council (2000). The digital dilemma: intellectual property in the information age. 346.048 D569

Nilson, Linda Burzotta (2010). Teaching at its best: a research-based resource for college instructors. 378.1 N599

O’Banion, Terry (1994). Teaching & learning in the community college. 378.17 Ob1

O’Donoghue, John (2006). Technology supported learning and teaching: a staff perspective. 371.33 Od5

Palloff, Rena M. (2009). Assessing the online learner: resources and strategies for faculty. 378.1 P179

Palloff, Rena M. (2011). The excellent online instructor: strategies for professional development. 371.334 P179

Parnell, Dale (2001). Contextual teaching works!: helping students reach higher levels of achievement. 378.125 P242

Payne, Ruby K. (2003). A framework for understanding poverty. 305.569 P293

Peters, Karen (1996). From the margin to the mainstream: the faculty role in advancing service-learning on community colleges: models, lessons from the field, case studies. 378.103 F925

Peters, Karen (1998). Assessing internal and external outcomes of service-learning collaborations. 378.103 C159

Peters, Karen (1997). Tensions inherent in service-learning: achieving balance. 378.103 T259

Peters, Karen (1998). Three years after: lessons learned from a service-learning project at community colleges. 378.103 T413

Postman, Neil (1995). The end of education: redefining the value of school. 370.973 P846

Rama, Dasaratha V. (1998). Learning by doing: concepts and models for service-learning in accounting. 657 L479

Reich, Justin (2008). Best ideas for teaching with technology: a practical guide for teachers, by teachers. 371.33 R271

Rhoads, Robert A. (1997). Community service and higher learning: explorations of the caring self. 370.115 R346

Richardson, Will (2006). Blogs, wikis, podcasts, and other powerful web tools for classrooms. 371.33 R397

Rockman, Ilene F. (2004). Integrating information literacy into higher education curriculum: practical models for transformation. 027.7 R592

Rothwell, William J. (2006). The handbook of training technologies: an introductory guide to facilitating learning with technology – from planning through evaluation. 658.3 R746

Roueche, John E. (1993). Between a rock and a hard place: the at-risk student in the open-door college. 378.052 R810

Roueche, John E. (1997). Embracing the tiger: the effectiveness debate and the community college. 378.1543 R810

Sand, Barbara Lourie (2000). Teaching genius: Dorothy Delay and the making of a musician. 787.2 Sa56

Schweizer, Heidi (1999). Designing and teaching an on-line course: spinning your web classroom. 371.334 Sch97

Simonson, Michael R. (2012). Teaching and learning at a distance: foundations of distance education. 371.35 T220

Singer, Harvey (2003). A new teacher’s guide: surviving your first year. 371.1 Si64

Skipper, Tracy L. (2005). Student development in the first college year: a primer for college educators. 378.194 Sk36

Smilkstein, Rita (2003). We’re born to learn: using the brain’s natural learning process to create today’s curriculum. 370.1523 Sm44

Smith, Robin M. (2008). Conquering the content: a step-by-step guide to online course design. 378.1 Sm64

Snart, Jason Allen (2010). Hybrid learning: the perils and promise of blending online and face-to-face instruction in higher education. 371.3 Sn15

Sousa, David A. (2001). How the brain learns: a classroom teacher’s guide. 370.1523 So85

Stage, Frances K. (1999). Service-learning: a movement’s pioneers reflect on its origins, practice, and future. 378 St26

Stix, Gary (1999). Who give a gigabyte?: a survival guide for the technologically perplexed. 600 St59

Stronge, James H. (2002). Qualities of effective teachers. 371.102 St89

Tagg, John (2003). The learning paradigm college. 378.12 T128

Tsang, Edmund (2000). Projects that matter: concepts and models for service-learning in engineering. 620 P943

Upcraft, M. Lee (1996). Assessment in student affairs: a guide for practitioners. 378.198 Up8

Ward, Harold (1999). Acting locally: concepts and models for service-learning in environmental studies.   333.707 Ac84

Wilen-Daugenti, Tracey (2009). .edu: technology and learning environments in higher education. 378.1 W647

Witt, Allen A. (1994). America’s community colleges: the first century. 378 W783

Classroom climate workshops: gender equity. Video 370.19345 G286

 

Electronic Books

 ELECTRONIC BOOKS

 The Library also has many books in electronic format. Check the online library catalog. Electronic books will have [electronic resource] after the title, or have a call number beginning WWW. If you are on campus, the book can be accessed by clicking on the book’s title, then on the URL link at the end of the book’s full  record. If you wish to access e-books off campus, please contact the library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip